Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

FUNDAMENTALISM.

edited January 2015
Here's another piping hot topic we can start arguing about: FUNDAMENTALISM.

The news in the micro-culture I make my living in are really brutal this morning. There was a shooting at a humor magazine, Charlie Hebdo, in France and four cartoonists (some of them pretty legendary) were killed during an editorial staff meeting. Twelve people died in total. While I didn't know any of the people killed, people who are near and dear to me did know most of them. I don't get to experience this tragedy as my own little drama to get emo about, but just imagine if a group of extremists entered the offices of MAD magazine and killed a bunch of cartoonists who's work you read as a child. It would feel super weird and scary...

I have read many statements about this, the one which struck me the most was that this is not only an attack on freedom of speech, it is also an attack on Islam. Because all of a sudden the level of sympathy for muslims drops once again and people's anger confuses the people who are just trying to live their lives with the ones who's sense of humor is so bad they have to go into an office and kill a bunch of people who draw jokes for a living.

Also, in all honesty, I am not a fan of Charlie Hebdo (the same way I am not a fan of MAD magazine). The jokes tend to be mostly shit-stirring, or really horny. When they re-published the cartoons of prophet Muhamed years ago I mostly felt like they were asking for trouble, they have since published drawings which have made me feel the same way, but none of this justifies burning down their office (back in 2011) or killing off all their editorial staff. Also, they were a really hilarious magazine for many years, so my heart is definitely with them today.