Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

A Salute To Those of us Whose Daily Work Involves Negotiating Massive and Lumbering Bureaucracies

subject line of email I just received:

"Your Responsibilities Related to Compliance with Export Control & Trade Laws & Regulations"

final line:

"It is the responsibility of all campus community members to review export control regulations and adhere to their requirements. Willful and knowing violation of these directives is a criminal offense."

Dude I am a MUSIC TEACHER

Comments

• I am finally putting in my two weeks at my job like that. Moving from an art college to a very well funded startup. Pretty excited/relieved.
  • "Dear Instructor,

I am writing to inform you of a substantive change to the Note Taking Program at Disability Services. A student in your class is in need of notes.

For many years, Disability Services has made a practice of utilizing student volunteer note takers in courses as our means of providing students with disabilities who require notes as an accommodation the appropriate access they need. Each semester, we reach out to faculty to find out which courses have notes provided by their instructors and we are exceedingly grateful to all of you who model universal design principles by offering your notes and class materials to the entire class. For those instructors that do not provide notes, we have offered 1 academic credit or 45 hours of community service to student volunteers in an effort to cover the University's legal obligation to comply with the ADA. Over the years, despite repeated efforts on our part to implement technology and make the system more user friendly to student note takers, we have continued to struggle to meet our requirement of 100% compliance.