Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

ancestry research

Has anyone done much ancestry research? I'm just starting out, but it's proving pretty difficult. Tips? Tricks?

Comments

• What site are you using?
  • mine were all Norse gods so it's pretty easy
  • Ancestry.com, which seems to have a lot of bad info perpetuated on it. Newspaperarchives.com which has been helpful. Findagrave.com.

I'm trying to find estranged living relatives, which seems harder than dead people.
  • Mormons seem good at this. Don't know if you want to go down that route, though.
  • They will baptize all your dead relatives for free.
  • The National Archives makes Census data public after 72 years. You can look at records from the 1940 Census here: http://1940census.archives.gov.
  • I had a day to kill in Salt Lake City and actually did some really interesting research at one of their genealogy library places. Was hard to dodge/ignore all of the hovering helpers who wanted to talk to me about my faith, but I managed.
    Worth it!
  • Owly, cool idea! I thought about maybe taking some trips to do research eventually. Curt - I have looked at the census data 1940 and before which has been helpful for older relatives, but I'm trying to specifically find marriage and birth records from the early 60s.

I gotta get my hands on those Catholic records I think.
  • This thread inspired me to start a tree! I am using the site www.familyecho.com (it's a simple free tree template site)... I've got everyone loaded that I know of.. not sure how to go about finding higher than my great grandparents.. no one knows in my family and people that do have passed! Where do you go from here?
  • edited March 2016